Photographing The Noosa Jazz festival

I had a wonderful opportunity come my way recently. That was to photograph a Jazz festival in Noosa, Queensland. Here are a couple of shots from the festival.

Taking these pictures was a great experience. I used a 200mm lens, changed to ISO every single time I shot a photo, and even in shaded daylight I eneded up shooting with 800 ISO and sometimes 1600 ISO.

Don’t be fooled. High ISO isn’t just for the night time or long exposures. It can be extremely helpful when you shoot in shade and you have a camera that goes up to even 3200 ISO, which mine does, thankfully.

With my old cameras, I was not able to go up this high. And using the Nikon D300, it’s so user friendly it may as well greet you in the morning with a smile and a cup of coffee…that’s how wonderful this camera is.

I’m not into the “Canon Vs Nikon” game. I love them both for different reasons. When people assume I dislike Canon simply because I am holding a Nikon…well, that’s just ridiculous. I don’t compete with them, I love them both.

I use the Nikon D300 for professional work simply because of ease of use. The old lenses I have on my 20 year old film camera fit perfectly on my D300. How’s that for consistency? Gotta love that feature of Nikon.

At the same time, I love Canon for the quality and the lightweight of their cameras. After a day of shooting with my heavy 200mm Nikon lens, my arm muscles hurt! With Canon, I don’t get this so much.

So there you go. It’s not a competition for me. Canon Vs Nikon? No such thing. They are both fantastic.

If you want to see more of my photos from the Noosa Jazz Festival, just visit www.AmyRoberts.Zenfolio.com.

Amy

P.S “Roberts” is my married name, incase you’re wondering.

These pictures are subject to copyright. You cannot copy these images or take them off the site without permission. To get permission all you have to do is ask. Don’t be sneaky. There is no need. Ask me and I will let you know if you can use my photo or not.

2 comments on “Photographing The Noosa Jazz festival

  1. Pingback: Photographing The Noosa Jazz festival « Digital Photography | Write What

Leave a Reply

